Sup Sup Sand Sasway!

Sup Sup Sand Sasway!

 

I once met a man, who I thought for sure, was, Christopher Reeves (with an S)

It was at a bar & grill, in Jackson Hole, surrounded by reddish Autumn leaves (more or less)

I may have had a few, maybe a few too many, since none is usually my usual limit

The lights were as bright as the sunset, inside, my dullard mind, said dim-it

Dim-it all to hell, please

I got to Jackson Hole, WY, in my 379 Peterbilt XH, powered by a 475 CAT, way ahead of schedule.

Having plenty of time to kill, I found and frequented one of the local bars there.

I was getting pretty hammered.

When, in walked a familiar face.

It is not too often you get to see walking faces.

Familiar or otherwise.

And to be quite honest, I was more familiar seeing his famous face, fly.

And boy was I flying high, when I walked up to him and said:
“CHRISTOPHER REEVES! CHRISTOPHER REEVES!
HOW’S IT GOIN’ SUPERMAN?”

With my hand extended to shake it up with one of my favorite stars hand’s.

Preferable his right.

He also put out his right shaking hand (phew) to meet mine and said:
“Oh, OK, but No “S”. So how are you?”

As we were not shaking left hands I said:
“OK Uperman, Man of Teal. I’m fine.”.

He laughed, as did the close on-lookers, while we were breaking up our handshaking bond.

He said pointing to his light blue shirt: “Actually, this is Aqua”.

Which opened up a whole new conversational array of Superhero, beverage and colored doors.

So if there were no S’s and I was sending out an SOS.
I would ju t   end out an   O

Fa ter than a   peeding bullet
More powerful than a locomotive
Able to leap tall building   in a   ingle bound
It’    uperman!

True   tory!

===================
When the local news station (10/11 Strong) announced the death of Christopher Reeve, which was an ongoing story for 3 or 4 days. Every single time they said his name, they said: “Christopher Reeves”. Not once did anyone from that station ever say his correct (No S) name of “Christopher Reeve”. (Or Uperman for that matter) Since I had actually met, and been corrected for the same mistake, by the Superman man himself. And was a big fan. I took it as my personal duty and responsibility to contact the TV station, (numerous times) and demand (even beg) for them to make an apology and correction. They ignored all of my pleas. And stood by their error. As a matter of fact. I even told this same story on their comments section. Which did not make the moderators approval. And was not published.

This entry was posted in Poetry/Doggerel/Prose-ack/X-Cons/Whatever?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment